Priyadarshini Chatterjee is Femina Miss India 2016

Priyadarshini Chatterjee Crowned as Femina Miss India 2016

Priyadarshini Chatterjee was crowned as Femina Miss India 2016 on the scintillating grand finale held on 9th April 2016 at Yash Raj Studios, Mumbai. She succeeds Miss World India 2015, Aditi Arya. Priyadarshini Chatterjee will now represent India at Miss World 2016. In the 53rd edition of Fbb Femina Miss India 2016, Sushruthi Krishna was titled as first runner up. Sushruthi Krishna succeeds Miss Supranational India 2015, Aafreen Vaz. At the coronation night, Pankhuri Gidwani was adjudged as second runner up. Pankhuri Gidwani succeeds Miss Grand India 2015, Vartika Singh.

Miss India 2016 winners.jpg
Pankhuri Gidwani, Priyadarshini Chatterjee and Sushruthi Krishna (L-R)


Its a hatrick for Delhi. After Koyal Rana and Aditi Arya, the winner of Femina Miss India Delhi 2016, Priyadarshini keeps the Miss World India crown in Delhi for the third time. She is the first North East Miss India Winner as she hails from Assam.

Priyadarshini Chatterjee, Miss World India 2016

This year 21 contestants competed against each other to win the coveted title of Miss World India 2016. They were- Rajkanya Baruah, Pankhuri Gidwani, Nazneen Shaikh, Sushruthi Krishna, Dimple Paul, Sanjana GL, Navpreet Kaur, Vaishnavi Patwardhan, Adya Niraj, Niharika Anand, Aradhana Buragohain, Zeba Baig, Aneesha Nitin Rane, Priyanka Singh, Dnyanda Shringarpure, Gayathri Reddy, Natasha Singh, Akshita Yadav, Priyadarshini Chatterjee, Roshmitha Harimurthy and Aishwarya Sheoran.

The finale was judged by the venerable jury members, which included:

  1. Mireia Lalaguna Royo – Miss World 2015
  2. Julia Morley- CEO and Chairperson of Miss World Organization
  3. Amy Jackson – Bollywood Actress
  4. Sania Mirza – Tennis Star
  5. Ekta Kapoor – Bollywood Producer
  6. Yami Gautam – Bollywood Actress
  7. Sanjay Dutt – Bollywood Actor
  8. Arjun Kapoor – Bollywood Actor
  9. Kabir Khan – Bollywood Director
  10. Manish Malhotra – Indian Designer
  11. Shane Peacock – International Designer
Jury Panel of Miss India 2016
Shane Peacock, Sania Mirza, Sanjay Dutt, Kabir Khan, Amy Jackson, Arjun Kapoor, Ekta Kapoor, Manish Malhotra, Mireia Lalaguna and Yami Gautam (Left to Right)


The show presented many Bollywood dancing numbers which included the performances by Tiger Shroff, Varun Dhawan, Shahid Kapoor, Jacqueline Fernandez, DID fame dancer, Salman Khan and singing performances by Sunidhi Chauhan and Badshah. The event was quite a star studded affair as many dignitaries like Shahrukh Khan were also present in the finale. Miss Asia Pacific World 2000, Dia Mirza also graced the coronation night of Femina Miss India 2016 where she got felicitated with Eternal beauty award just before the crowning ceremony.

Dia Mirza
Dia Mirza, Miss Asia Pacific World 2000

The show was hosted by the famous Director, Karan Johar and Comedian, Manish Paul. Gaurav Gera and Gulshan Grover were also present in the grand finale of Femina Miss India 2016. Steve Morley, who is the Co-Founder of Miss World Organization, also graced the event.

Karan Johar and Manish Paul

After the introductory performances and Indian wear round, Dnyanda Shringarpure was declared as the winner of Mobstar Miss Multimedia Award and hence got a direct entry to semi-finals of Femina Miss India 2016. The 21 finalists of Fbb Femina Miss India 2016 were then trimmed down to Top 10 semi-finalists, which included:

  1. Dnyanda Shringarpure
  2. Pankhuri Gidwani
  3. Navpreet Kaur
  4. Priyadarshini Chatterjee
  5. Natasha Singh
  6. Roshmitha Harimurthy
  7. Gayathri Reddy
  8. Sushruthi Krishna
  9. Vaishnavi Patwardhan
  10. Aradhana Buragohain

Top 10 Miss India 2016

Thereafter the contestants were judged in their evening gowns, which were designed by Falguni & Shane Peacock. Subsequently, the contestants were posed with the question and answer round, ensuing to which the Top 5 finalists were announced, which included:

  1. Pankhuri Gidwani
  2. Navpreet Kaur
  3. Priyadarshini Chatterjee
  4. Roshmitha Harimurthy
  5. Sushruthi Krishna

I predicted 4 out of 5 contestants correctly in my final predictions of Femina Miss India 2016 and all three winners in the right order. You can catch the Final Hotpicks of Femina Miss India 2016 here at this link.


In the final question and answer round, the contestants were asked a common question: “What are the qualities needed in Miss India and why do you deserve to win today?” Check the answers of the finalists here at this link.

During the final round, mothers of all the finalists joined their daughters on the stage. After the final question and answer round, the winners were announced before the enthralled audience. The special awards distributions were done on the sub-contest crowning ceremony formerly held before a week. You can check the list of Sub-Contest Winners of Femina Miss India 2016 here at this link. However, the “Beauty with a Purpose” Award was awarded to Sushruthi Krishna on the coronation night.

Femina Miss India has produced five Miss World winners, two Miss Universe winners, one Miss Earth winner, three Miss Asia Pacific World and three Miss Asia Pacific International winners. India also won the Miss Universe and Miss World in the same year twice in 1994 and 2000.

Miss World Mireia Lalaguna at Miss India 2016
Miss World 2015, Mireia Lalaguna and Miss Teen World, Amy Jackson during Femina Miss India 2016 finale as jury.

Last year, Vartika Singh went on to become second runner up at Miss Grand International 2015, Aafreen Vaz became the Top 10 finalist at Miss Supranational 2015, and also bagged the Continental Title of Miss Asia and Oceania and Sushrii Shreya Mishra won the third runner up position at Miss United Continents 2015.

Fbb Femina Miss India 2016 Winners- Pankhuri Gidwani (1st Runner Up), Priyadarshini Chatterjee (Miss World India 2016) and Sushruthi Krishna (2nd Runner Up) (Left to Right) 

Congratulations to all the newly crowned winners, Priyadarshini Chatterjee, Sushruthi Krishna and Pankhuri Gidwani of Fbb Femina Miss India 2016.

Also Read: Femina Miss India 2016 Final Hotpicks- The Concluding Verdict

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Very useful info specially the final phase :
    ) I maintain such info much. I used to be looking for this particular information for a very
    long time. Thank you and good luck.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s